Jet-Lagged Thoughts

Hello past, present, and future blog readers,

It is currently 22:09 GMT and I am finally settling into my Earl’s Court Residence, where I will be living during most of my study abroad here in London. As the title suggests, I’m quite tired, so I’m going to dash off this post quickly before getting some rest.

Let me introduce myself. I’m Alex, 22 years of age, in my last two years of school at the University of Oregon double majoring in Theatre Arts and German Literature & Culture (and trying to finish up a thesis for the Robert D. Clark Honors College), born in Cologne, Germany but moved to Eugene, OR when I was nine years old, and writing this blog as part of a nine-and-a-half week theatre program in London. I will be seeing a different play almost every night, taking trips to Stratford-upon-Avon as well as Bath, Dover, Canterbury, and the Lake Country, tracking and discussing the evolution of various artistic and architectural movements throughout British history, and finally researching for my thesis (a translation and theatrical adaptation of Franz Kafka’s Der Prozess–The Trial–inspired by the writings of Bertolt Brecht).

If any of those subjects interest you, please feel free to check in with my weekly posts!

All the best,

Alex

P.S. I’ve never written anything for public consumption before. Even though this is a casual blog series, feedback and constructive criticism is always appreciated. I look forward to sharing my experiences, thoughts, critiques, photos, memories, and anecdotes of my time traipsing around the United Kingdom.

Leave a comment